Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

Gay Albuquerque







Back to Albuquerque Social Club

ALL REVIEWS FOR ALBUQUERQUE SOCIAL CLUB (46)

  • princessrandy gave this place *
    Cuz, 'Girls just wanta have fun'
    Only been there twice as of this writing, and only because I don't live in Abq. However, if I did.... this would be my place. I find It welcoming and comfy for all ages and all genders. I find it accepting and attractive, the hotties too. It's good to know that a stranger can walk in and be treated with such hospitality by the staff as well as the members.

    Oct 11 at 12:05pm ·

  • bertolow gave this place *
    hi
    How old do you have to be to attend this social club? I'm new in town.

    Apr 25 at 6:56am ·

  • Silverback gave this place *
    Little to offer besides smoking
    If this private club lost its smoking permit the bar stools would be empty overnight. The bartenders are competent and friendly and remember guests and their drink preferences, and that's good. But the hospitality ends there. Because of the bizarre business model (they're classified as "lodging" through some strange twist of logic at City Hall) it's never clear who the managers are or who's responsible for the lack-luster offerings. The interior resembles a VFW hall right down to the folding tables. There's someone who knows how to double-click an MP3 file masquerading as a DJ, the music selection is complaint driven. A middle-aged lesbian will go will go to the booth and complain "Why haven't you played this song yet?" and it gets played. Then another middle-aged lesbian will go to the booth and complain "Why haven't you played THIS song yet?" and so it goes all night long. Too many patrons come from Santa Fe and make it clear they're fabulous because they come from a small town overrun by Californians with no gay bars of its own. Groucho Marx once said "I don't care to belong to any club that will have me as a member" and ASC's patrons should have taken the hint.

    Dec 23, 2012 at 3:27pm ·

  • Brandon1138 gave this place *
    Joke
    Rude bartender, dead horse bar, why a membership to nothing. what are the benefits to this crap. We went for a drink, not to give out our life story to some putz kid behind the bar. Don't bother. Go to Sidewinders.

    Sep 28, 2012 at 4:56pm ·

  • lily420 gave this place *
    if only if only 18and over
    I'm sure this place is great as iv seen lots of reviews about this, i pass by all the time and wondered, but as i am 19 i cannot. two more years and then i can join this gay community that flourishes yet nothing but bars bars and more bars, no simple hang outs or real social clubs, just 21 and over bars, it seems theres no place to hang out and make friends with people like yourself unless you want to get drunk aswell. Idk if you can have 18yo+ thursdays or some shit but it would really be nice to find gay people to hang out with other than resorting to Facebook or craigslist where everyone there just wants a hand job and to leave... looking to not be friendless these next two years as my supposed friends abandoned me after finding out I'm queer, peace and love...

    Aug 5, 2012 at 4:36am ·

  • ray.skeets gave this place *
    questions
    sorry new to this cyber stuff. how old do you have to be to get into the club? how much is the fee? and are people here nice?

    Jul 27, 2012 at 2:48am ·

  • bnorberto gave this place *
    Cocktail Hour
    Drinks here are the lowest priced in the city of albuquerque, with some of the best bartenders around, bartenders have been a part of the gay community for over 15 years, providing the best drinks, the atmosphere is very laid back and low key, if you had a long day at the office of want to sit back and have a drink with friends the Social Club is the place to be. hope to see you around.

    Jan 16, 2012 at 11:22pm ·

  • justinboyd gave this place *
    Really surprised.
    I went on a Tuesday for Karaoke and there were probably 70 plus people in. Friendly clientele, a handful of cute guys and men and women of all ages. Not as cruisey as I like but all in all it was a fun night with inexpensive drinks and good people.

    Jul 23, 2011 at 4:42pm ·

  • daman6911 gave this place *
    Not What I expected...I
    Went to the Soch on a tuesday night. They had a Karaoke night.. It was fun and people were very friendly. Drinks were really well priced and I even came out my shell and sang. lol I went back later that week Wed drinks were only 2 bucks all night and on a friday and they had a video dj night... Music was great and some hot boys came in through out the night.. Overall I was very happy.. Ill Be Back

    Jun 1, 2011 at 4:18am ·

  • ChicagoGuyPassingThrough gave this place *
    Not expecting this.....
    So there is a glimmer of hope for gay nightlife in Albuquerque. I became a member a few weeks ago. Hung out had some drinks and chatted with quite a few people. Very friendly crowd, and to be a little cliche "Social ." Head about the show this past weekend so bought a ticket. Great show. But what struck was a new look and feel in the bar. What a change in a couple weeks. Noticed the sound was WAY better and the bar had been remolded. Met a board member and they said that there are going to be many more upgrades and changes coming. I am glad to have given the club a second chance. After so many fails with other clubs in town I'm glad to have found this diamond in the rough. Cannot wait to see what is next.

    May 29, 2011 at 8:47pm ·

  • KeithwH gave this place *
    You're going to love it!
    . Has the most positive reviews (there are social rejects who have issues) overall a great club. The Social club is a showbar on Saturdays, but the back bar is open for those odd ducks who don't like the best Drag shows in town. The cheapest drinks in town. Recently began renovations, and has seen a younger crowd on weekend nights. New sound system, and VJ's on a huge projector wall! Wednesdays are great with VJ STITCH and $2.00 well drinks.

    May 26, 2011 at 7:51pm ·

  • smilezguy gave this place *
    Great People Great Place...
    You may have to get a membership for this place, but with what you save on the drink prices you'll be really happy you came here. The bartenders are great and the atmosphere of this place is nice to be around. If you want a great place to just relax and listen to some awesome music then this is the place. Ive been here a few times and it's always been really chill.

    Apr 25, 2011 at 12:38am ·

  • local_love gave this place *
    Just keeps getting better....
    The Albuquerque Social Club has come a long way last year. They remodeled the bar up front and there has been lots of talk about more upgrades. I personally like the appearance of VJ nights. People are friendly, drinks are cost less then any other bar in town and are just as tasty. The staff is great. Safe fun place to meet friends, make friends and have a great experience. I have heard it before. Now I believe it. This is the place to be....and it just keeps getting better

    Feb 10, 2011 at 6:47am ·

  • hotmenace gave this place *
    They put up with my bullshit.
    I'm not from Albuquerque, I'm a transplant since 2003. Ryan, Rick, Patrick, and the rest of the staff that I saw are cool. You can't just expect to get red carpet treatment just cause you moved someplace. This is the place to be if you want a decent atmosphere to go to. When your an outsider like me, I guess you just have to keep showing up. Albuquerque is my home now, and I will visit there more! :)

    Nov 16, 2010 at 11:55am ·

  • MikeyK01 gave this place *
    Pretty dissappointing.
    Most of the staff are great, Don't expect to be treated with more than professional courtesy if you're a newcomer. It is a private club, and very 'local-centric.' It's clean and well-kept. It's no showplace. It's not a cruise bar. On weekends, it abounds with drag queens and straight couples. It is not a 4-star gay bar. Far from it, it is kinda pathetic I am a native. I have a ferocious love for Albuquerque. Mine is an intense and abiding love and affection for this place. Gay-wise, it sucks. Albuquerque is my home town. I love it dearly. It is, however, a gay wasteland. If you're a visitor, I recommend Nob Hill Bar & Grill or O'Neils. They are not gay establishments. They are, though, very gay-friendly. They will be of a much higher caliber than you'll encounter at ASC. New or old to Albuquerque, if you want a place to have a drink after work & commune with your fellow locals, it's a great place. It is family. Don't expect anything more than that and expect to be held at a distance until they're satisfied that you're a bona fide local. You can expect to be talked about, either favorably or disparagingly, by the staff not in your presence. I have witnessed it. It seems they are not directed or inspired to be professional at what they do. On weekends, drag queens abound as do straight couples (not sure why that is).

    Aug 28, 2010 at 8:00am ·

  • NMBRAT gave this place *
    THE SHOW'S HERE GOT SO MUCH BETTER, I WISH IT WAS'NT SO SMOKEY.
    HELLO "ASC", I AM SO GLAD YOU ALL GOT SO MUCH BETTER, THE SHOW'S ARE DOING GREAT, I REALLY THINK SABRYNA WILLAMS CHANGED IT ALL. SHE IS THE BOMB. I WISH THEY WOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE SMOKE, IT IS UNBEARABLE, THAT IS THE ONLY COMPLAINT I HAVE IS THE SMOKE. HOPE YOU ALL WILL KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK, THANKS. I WOULD GIVE YOU A 5 STAR, BUT I DONT LIKE THE SMOKE.

    Jul 14, 2010 at 1:45am ·

  • JonEBbad gave this place *
    been going for years off and on
    it's an ok bar... it's a local spot where everyone at some point or another goes... the music is generally good... it's a bit dark and could use a facelift... but the staff is overall friendly ...

    Jul 8, 2010 at 12:00am ·

  • AzulYMarron gave this place *
    Great hangout
    The Social Club is friendly welcoming community oriented bar where the clientele are always kind to you and the bartenders always take care of you. They go out of their way to provide a change up of entertainment throughout the week, something for everyone. The drinks are so reasonably priced it makes up for the membership fee, and I've never bought a ticket for one of their Saturday night shows that I didn't think was worth it!

    May 9, 2010 at 9:16pm ·

  • junquey1 gave this place *
    Almost always a good time
    PRO: There's almost always a small (to large!) crowd. It's very friendly (if you are). Very much a neighbor hood bar. CONS: There is an annual fee (It's a Private Club); Smoking inside; and, there can be some god-awful drag at times (is that really a con?).

    May 1, 2010 at 10:07pm ·

  • pross gave this place *
    A great place to come home to!
    I have just recently moved back to my home town , Albuquerque! My very favorite bar in the world (and i do alot of traveling!) is the Albuquerque Social Club! The perspective you gain living out of state and then coming back to a family like the members of the social club is very special. I like the diversity of the clubs members, the friendly staff and the variety of things to do and events to attend... The social club rocks, cuz theres somthing for everyone! I always feel safe there and honestly.. The cheapest drinks in town!!!

    Feb 7, 2010 at 9:16pm ·

  • wepimp gave this place *
    Sexy Patrick
    Patrick, the tuesday night bartender rocks! From your Michigan fan:-)

    Jan 27, 2010 at 4:13pm ·

  • abqfun1 gave this place *
    Great night spot
    Nice place to have a drink in peace.

    Jan 4, 2010 at 8:50pm ·

  • jjmarti69 gave this place *
    Home Sweet Home
    I've been a member at the SOCH (Albuquerque Social Club) for about 2 years now. It has become my second home... It's the perfect place to go to after a long days work. A place where you can relax, play some pool, chat with friends and make some new ones...

    Sep 18, 2009 at 1:05am ·

  • Gaytravelers gave this place *
    You'll like this place!
    As we travel around the country, we are amazed at the different liquor laws that different States have. You have to be a member to get into this bar, but hey! go with the flow and do what you have to do. Just be SURE and tell them you are from out of town and they will treat you nice. Great staff and people there are very friendly.

    Sep 17, 2009 at 10:35pm ·

  • Trystan gave this place *
    Scene Stealer
    The Social Club is the exact center of the Q's gay scene. Exhale, its closest competition, is a far distant second. With the demise of numerous lesbian and gay clubs in ABQ during 2008/09, the ASC is the only national grade, undeniably fabulous venue we can still call our own. The music, the entertainment and the crowds are consistently the best. BTW: The Dolls are the heart of the Queer scene here, especially Patti Roxx.

    Aug 24, 2009 at 5:38am ·

  • BattleAx gave this place *
    It's A Great Place!
    The Soch is the best for any kind of entertainment! Yes, a private club. But well worth the small membership fee. The door person makes you feel at ease right away! The bartenders are truly artists at work! And you always feel safe! I wouldn't go anywhere else in Albuquerque!

    Aug 23, 2009 at 6:15pm ·

  • davey87120 gave this place *
    The Best
    Unfortunately it is a private club -- -but make the most of it -- you can find friendly people and a great staff - the shows and drinks are bad either.. Make this one of your destination hot spots to visit the next time you are in Alb. New Mexico

    Aug 23, 2009 at 5:54am ·

  • partygirl gave this place *
    This is a Girl's dream!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am so happy to find this place! DJ Madie plays on Fridays, and its a girl's dream come true. What I really like about this place, is there is a great mixture of people. I have heard of mixed bars, and this one really works for me. I like that the Guys seem to really like having us around. They have other things to do, like pool and such. I can't wait for football season, I hope they do something fun!

    Aug 22, 2009 at 2:25am ·

  • TheDOLLS gave this place *
    The Dolls Favorite night spot in Albuquerque
    How to add to the glowing reviews already posted ? The Dolls have been a part of this hot spot for years now. We do our annual "Fairy Tale" every year at the Social Club. The club has been revamped in the last couple of years and has become quite the place to be seen. When not staging our own productions at theaters, you can find us in the audience , enjoying the wonderful drag shows the club produces. The best drinks in town, and a safe place to enjoy the company of friends!

    Aug 21, 2009 at 8:38pm ·

  • Funfitguy gave this place *
    Wow! You can't miss this one!
    After going to the other two empty warehouse clubs here, This is the oasis from the New Mexico sun!This place rocks! DJ Stitch is the best, and the Drag is of a level found in Las Vegas. Drinks are cheaper than any place else! Great Club!

    Aug 21, 2009 at 4:56pm ·

  • jomama gave this place *
    Dorothy your not in Kansas anymore
    I returned to A.S.C after being away for two years! There are only three Gay clubs left here? What I did find so pleasant, was the overhaul of the A.S.C. It still has that "Cheers" everbody knows your name, but has grown into so much more. The drinks are still SO cheap, and the shows are the best I have seen in a LONG while. I didn't see any druggies or Lugs like the previous posting, but found people friendly and responsive. They have a mix of DJ's, so you aren't stuck in a rut. DJ Stitch is awesome, very much a progressive beatmaster like the ones I heard in California. The rest of the clubs here, look and sound the same as when I lived here, but the A.S.C. has been reborn into something even better! Congrats, you are lucky to have such a venue, in a small town environment.

    Aug 13, 2009 at 7:59pm ·

  • DukeCityMuscle gave this place *
    Drag bar managed by harsh control freaks
    The harpies who manage Albuquerque Social Club treat guests like they're not worthy of the privilege of suffering through toxic drag queens (unless you're an ecstasy dealer or bubbly co-ed with a fake ID, then you get the red carpet). Patronized by UNM LUGs (lesbians until graduation), 40-something professional drunks, and chain-smoking prissy boys drinking far too many Red Bull and vodkas. Unsuitable for anyone with dignity or self-respect.

    Jul 9, 2009 at 12:39am ·

  • Danny_Boy gave this place *
    Great place
    This is one of my best friend favorite places.

    Jun 9, 2009 at 3:21pm ·

  • RedRocket gave this place *
    Home Away From Home
    I love the ASC and the people that I have come to know from working there. Yes, drinks are cheap, service is good, and the cost of membership makes up for itself in the first night you stop in. I can garuntee that managment in this club excells in protecting its members and employees the Club wouldn't BE without you Wes, Thank You!. The ASC takes part in the gay community and is here to support it. Come meet the family, you will have a wonderful time!

    Jun 8, 2009 at 8:57pm ·

  • gigalot gave this place *
    Had no idea!
    Ive been in town working on a movie and was totally bummed by the scene. A friend of mine from NY invited me to a party at a place called the Soch, I had never heard of the place, was reluctant to go. I had a great time, the music was good (finally!) - I never want to hear another Mariah Gay Cliche Carey remix again - seriously! Thank the fag god for the social club!

    Jun 6, 2009 at 8:35pm ·

  • NMgoober gave this place *
    Hit or Miss
    This ia a unique private clube that offers shows from by the "Pretty Mafia" and other local talent. The music varies and sometimes attracts a large (older) lesbian crowd. The Lesbian working the door is never friendly, but once ou make it to the bar you will get good service. If you: Smoke, Like an Older crowd, or appreciate low priced drinks, then this is a great venue for you. "SOCH" as many refer to it, can offer a good time people watching, but is not for the circit or twink crowd.

    Jun 5, 2009 at 6:52pm ·

  • Burningbear_Abq gave this place *
    Albuquerque Social Club - Cultural Evolution
    The Albuquerque Social Club has been around for about 300 years. It has continued to reinvent itself keeping pace with our evolving culture. Recently, while every other bar in Albuquerque was required to go "smoke free," the "Social Club" was exempted from this as it is a private, non-profit club. However, realizing that many of its members prefer a non-smoking environment, it has made time and space for them in separate areas of the bar. Kudos for them listening to the full membership requests.

    Jun 5, 2009 at 12:37pm ·

  • roxys gave this place *
    loves it!
    great bar grest shows great staff need more places like this in our gay communitys they embrace our community not exploit it!
    first review First to Review

    Jun 5, 2009 at 5:37am ·

  • LoveStudNM gave this place *
    The best Burque has to offer
    ASC is so unique! It has drag shows, two bars, cheapest drinks of any Nob Hill bar, big dance floor that doubles as a community gathering place. I love it and joined (you have to buy a membership) about 8 years ago. Some long time members say its been around for 35 years. Men and women of all ages have made this the "GAY CHEERS of ABQ" You rock ASC!

    Jun 5, 2009 at 5:20am ·

  • yourstruly gave this place *
    Great Spot
    Abq Social Club has come a long way in the past few years, with a younger, hip crowd, great dance floor and amazing drag shows and concerts. It's a very friendly atmosphere, with a wide range of people. This ain't your grandma's social club!

    Jun 5, 2009 at 4:19am ·

  • shygirl1 gave this place *
    less smoking please
    if only there was less smoking in the dance bar .

    Jun 5, 2009 at 4:17am ·

  • GayGossip gave this place *
    Nice but not a Members only club
    They will let anyone in and the drinks are good but the space and lighting is a bit sub par. The sound is good but not spectacular. Seems to be a Drag Show club an if you are a member trying to have a drink with your older friends, forget it anyone with a membership card can bring people in over and over. Management is ok seem to be a bit lost.

    Jun 5, 2009 at 3:55am ·

  • bbellsong gave this place *
    By far the best in Albuquerque. Friendly, great customer service and best of al it is members only. Wonderful shows at great prices. And the DJs, well Madie, Stitcha and Scoobie can spin the discs like no one else. All inclusive, even straights.

    Jun 5, 2009 at 3:30am ·

  • TommyLee gave this place *
    Don't pass this one up!
    First of all, you can't GET a cheaper drink in ANY gay/gay friendly establishment in town. That alone should be 'nuff said. But to embelish; you can't form the kind of camaraderie with SO many friends/acquaintances that this Club has to offer in any other place. It IS a private Club, affectionately known as the SOCH (pronounced soash). And the management will do just about anything asked of them, even if you have to "push a little". Club Dance music on weekends provides a whole different atmosphere than the week-night get togethers. Hell, you can even play cards or Wii or pool or whatever your little heart desires. Try it - you'll like it! -Tommy Lee

    Jun 5, 2009 at 3:26am ·

  • BUNNIEBOOMBOOM gave this place *
    GREAT BAR STAFF
    THE SOCH HAS A GREAT STAFF AND MANAGER! THE SHOWS ARE ALWAYS A HIT. ITS A GREAT PLACE TO BE AND BE SEEN AT!!!

    Jun 5, 2009 at 3:16am ·

  • F.Devine gave this place *
    social club is the # 1 GLBT bar
    i love this place i entertain here from time to time, love the great music great shows.. and the drinks are always good and cheap
    first review First to Review

    Jun 5, 2009 at 3:15am ·





Back to Albuquerque Social Club »